top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Holmes

How I Started on My Writing Journey

It's day 3 for the #APRILLITWRIT! (I've noticed that the LitWrit challenge is more based on writing while the IGWriters is more based for photos/Instagram. Just letting you all know that, in case!)

But today's theme is Why/When you started writing.

Which I would say is that my story is quite interesting (or complicated, depending on how you view it.) But know that this is going to be a long post with plenty of words to read.


Let's just say that a younger me would have completely shut and have laughed at the thought of me being an author. I thought that I had better chance with being a rocket scientist or an actress if that meant I didn't have to write more.


Backtracking myself, in my childhood, I hated the English subject altogether. From reading books to writing short stories that the teachers had assigned to us. My reasons were that I had to take these speech classes since my English pronunciation was behind the curve.

Since I knew about my speech problems, I would keep quiet more often and remember being very timid and shy for whenever I had to read aloud to my elementary teachers and had to be graded on my reading efficiency. (Since they can't read my mind.)


Another reason why I disliked English and writing very much as a child was because I was bullied for how I wrote my short stories and how my imagination was just....beyond out of the ordinary.

Which resulted in me being a very reserved and had kept everything to myself. (If you asked anyone who knows me personally, they can tell you that I don't open up.)


But my distaste for the subject of English and for writing had changed when I was in 6th grade. My teacher was giving criticism on our essays and when I came out, I don't remember the exact details. But what I do remember was that I cried while I was pushing myself to continue writing. Soon, my teacher had me come out of the classroom to ask me what is wrong and to comfort me.


After our conversation, my teacher had told me that he believed in me and all I need is some improvements on my essay. I don't know why that conversation had motivated me to like English and believe in my writing skills for once.



Now....here is when I started to develop a passion for writing stories.


During my 6th grade year, I loved reading fantasy stories or fairytale retellings. But as I continued to read more stories, my imagination started to conquer up a scene with characters of my own.

The scene I kept imagining was a bakery of some sort was burning to ashes, but two people lead the town to safety. One was a royal prince who kept pouring water to the burning building and making sure that all citizens were safe and sound. While this female was disguised in a knight's armor, as she was running into the burning building save the last remaining of people.


As the year continued, I couldn't help but continue to expand my mind and imagination to create this story. So, on that summer after 6th grade, I had tried to writing. I had only written six chapters within the entirety of that summer.


When reaching 7th grade, I stopped writing. Reason, being that I trying to become a more social, though that didn't work out too well at the end. (Because I am an introvert, maybe an ambient. I'm just not a bold, outgoing, all around people person.)


Two years later, to the summer after 8th grade, I was once again inspired to write again. This time, my imagination of a far off fantasy kingdom had continued to expand.

Then, I had found Wattpad and decided to write a different story than what I actually wanted to write. (Mainly to see where this social media could get me into and to have the worst of my writing aside.)


After I had become a Wattpadder, everything else became history in regards of my writing journey. Since then and still now, I have grown to have a strong passion for writing all of these stories that were being conjured in this twisted imagination of mine.


Before, I used to question myself and what the future holds, since I had no real grasp on what I want or what I should become. The future is still far away and uncertain, but I have at least a glimpse of what I could become.


I may be only an aspiring author at this moment, but I don't see myself dreaming of anything else but to tell the world my stories. So, no matter how long or what you want from your future; just remember that eventually you will be able to figure out.


Wish the best of luck for everything that might come in your journey,

Crystal Holmes

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My (Best) Writing Friend!

It's the second day for the #AprilLitWrit challenge with the theme being "NaNoWriMo camp/ writing buddies. Immediately, I had thought about my dear friend who has self- published her own book! For who

bottom of page